Tags

, , , , , , ,

13260802

While trying to save her brother from a witch’s fire four years ago, Greta was thrown in herself, falling through a portal to Mylena, a dangerous world where humans are the enemy and every ogre, ghoul, and goblin has a dark side that comes out with the eclipse.

To survive, Greta has hidden her humanity and taken the job of bounty hunter—and she’s good at what she does. So good, she’s caught the attention of Mylena’s young goblin king, the darkly enticing Isaac, who invades her dreams and undermines her will to escape.

But Greta’s not the only one looking to get out of Mylena. An ancient evil knows she’s the key to opening the portal, and with the next eclipse mere days away, every bloodthirsty creature in the realm is after her—including Isaac. If Greta fails, she and the lost boys of Mylena will die. If she succeeds, no world will be safe from what follows her back…

Blurb and cover from Goodreads

5 out of 5 stars

This was a book I asked for and received way back at Christmastime, but didn’t pick up until a short while ago because I wanted to savor it. I first started reading on the train in the afternoon, thinking I would just start it. About six hours later, I was glued to the book by my eyeballs, unable to tear myself away until I had finished!

The plot:

The plot was interesting, though I confess there were one or two places where I felt there was a piece of the story missing, like the book should have been longer. Nonetheless, I enjoyed the non-stop action and the quick pacing. While this does have strong themes of romance, it is very much an action flick as well with everything from sword fights to chase scenes. In other words, my kind of book.

The characters:

Greta can be a bit stubborn and there were parts where I wanted to slap her and scream “Can’t you see that Isaac loves you, you numpty?!” But her will to survive and desire to save others was admirable and I especially related to her protectiveness over her baby brother and particularly liked how Isaac didn’t have to charge in and rescue her every time she got herself into a tight fix. Greta could hold her own, but at the same time she wasn’t invincible. She was a balanced character, not too tough but certainly not helpless.

I’ve always thought of goblins as rather nasty (especially post-LOTR), but Isaac fits securely into the category of adorable love interests. His strong personality makes a good match for Greta and his persistence is absolutely required to win over a girl like her. Though she might not see it at first, I think Isaac and Greta are definitely an OTP.

I really liked Wyatt, the leader of the lost boys. He was an older brother, sometimes paternal, figure to the younger boys he’d taken under his wing. However, he has a thing for Greta and she a tiny thing for him and to that I must quote something I heard another reviewer say: “It’s Greta and the Goblin King, not Greta and the Human.”

I adored the lost boy characters, though there is one I fear will be trouble later. The villain, Agramon, is certainly evil, though he doesn’t get much page time. For most of the story the villains are the weather and other bounty hunters before we actually come face-to-face with Agramon. I very much enjoyed the characters and I look forward to seeing more of them(except the villain) in future books.

Conclusion: A fun, witty read with plenty of sarcasm, edge-of-your-seat action, and a breathtaking romance.

Find Greta and the Goblin King on Goodreads

Find Greta and the Goblin King on Amazon

Find Greta and the Goblin King on BN.com

