Tags

, , , , ,

Determinant (The Guardians of Vesturon #3)

January St. Davis, on her own since the age of sixteen and struggling to stay in college, thinks she’s scored in a major way when she lands a paid summer internship at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta. One evening, after working an especially long shift, a chance encounter with a group of mysterious men alters the course of her life.

Rykerian Yarrister, a Guardian of Vesturon with unearthly powers and impossibly gorgeous looks, finds himself at odds over the human female he recently saved from certain death. When it seems he is on the verge of winning her over, she is ripped from his hands by a strange and powerful being, threatening to destroy her if his demands are not met.

Do Rykerian and the Guardians have the ability to meet this fierce barbarian’s ultimatums, or will January suffer a horrid demise?

Blurb and cover from Goodreads

5 out of 5 stars

I’m not going to lie, I wasn’t sure I wanted to read this book. I became very attached to Maddie and Rayn and I didn’t want to leave them behind, even if Rykerian is a bit difficult not to like. In the end, I found myself liking this book more than the previous two and adoring January and Rykerian to bits!

The plot:

Okay, you could probably split this book into two novellas with their own beginnings, middles, and ends, but I think it worked. I saw the same “problem” here that I did in the previous book of there being a slight lack of direction after the first half. Nonetheless, this was a wonderful tale and I am very, very glad I read it.

The characters:

January. Poor January! The day she graduates high school (at sixteen) she is thrown out by her “father” who tells her that she is not really his daughter and that the reason her mother has always seemed to hate her is because January is the product of a rape and her mother really does hate her. Forced to live in her car, January is lucky enough to be taken in by various people who try to help her out. As time goes by, she is cut off from her little brother and sister (who are the only people who’ve ever really loved her) by her she-dog of a mother and the total cur who is her mother’s husband. January struggles to make her grades to get into med school, but working two jobs and sleeping way too little take their toll and soon she starts slipping. Nonetheless, she manages to get an internship at the Centers for Disease Control and that’s where she is infected with hemorrhagic smallpox the real trouble starts. I really, really just wanted to hug this poor girl. She had absolutely no one and I just wanted her to be okay! When Rykerian comes along, I was so happy because I knew he’d take care of her (yes, I know it’s a romance and I shouldn’t have been worried).

Rykerian was just…so flippin’ sweet. He is the more shy and awkward of the Yarrister siblings and though I didn’t really take to him in the earlier books, I found myself liking him even more than Rayn. I really enjoyed how this love story follows them all the way to when :SPOILER: their first child is born. That was quite possibly my favorite part. And it is priceless when Annalise gives them a schedule because she and Rowan are tired of listening to Rykerian and January argue over who’s turn it is to hold the baby. :SPOILER OVER:

One of my favorite characters was Jurek, the inter-matter shape shifter mercenary. He was gruff and a little hard on the outside, but with a heart of goose down and a wonderful sense of humor. I loved his mockery of the Vesturions, only because he was so funny!

An awesome series and I’m looking forward to reEmergent!

Add Determinant on Goodreads

Find Determinant on Amazon

Find Determinant on BN.com

