Tags

, , , , , , ,

Dracian Legacy Cover

Ren and Axel are caught between two powerful magical races: one destined to end the bloodshed, the other out for vengeance.

Seventeen-year-old Ren Pernell is prophesied to end the war between the Dracians and the Telalians. So when a Dracian, Axel Knight, is sent to find and bring back the prophesied one before she turns eighteen and Telalians discover of her existence, unexpected sparks start to fly between the two. Once Ren finds the truth behind Axel’s arrival, she wants everything to do with him and nothing to do with his mission.

Things prove to become difficult as Ren’s life is constantly threatened by the Goarders, humans who sold their souls, a Proxy Succubi, and the leader of the Telalians, who has been searching for her as well.

With the clock ticking and Ren’s life in jeopardy, it is no longer just a mission for Axel. It becomes a personal endeavor to save the only one he’s ever loved. In a heart racing ending, they must find a way to evade the preordained war that won’t also end Ren’s life.

4 out of 5 stars
Dracian Legacy is a paranormal romance that’s refreshingly lacking in vampires and any kind of shapeshifters, but rather has magical races, demons, and soulless zombie-like people who do the demons’ bidding. There were a few points where I became confused, mainly in the beginning, as to who was who and what was what, but a very original and engaging story over all. Note: It was a bit steamy (I thought) in parts and there were some not-gory fight scenes (just so you know).

The plot:
The plot was fascinating, moving at a pace that kept me interested, but not especially fast. It didn’t seem to have any foreseen direction to me, but like Jasper Fforde, I think Ms. Kanaparti pulled it off. There wasn’t a whole lot of “down time” and my siblings will tell you that they had trouble prying me away from the story. I did think that Ren accepted it a wee bit too easily when Axel told her what he was. That would’ve been alright, since she was already more or less head over heels for him, I just wish that some attention had been called to the fact. The other problem I had was that Ren’s feelings for Axel seem based on lust in the beginning. The first things that draw her to him are physical and I would’ve appreciated more emotional bonding.

The characters:
Temperance, or Ren, is special, she just doesn’t know it yet. Prophesied as an infant to play a role in either the preservation or destruction of life on Earth, a lot is counting on her. I thought she was easy to sympathize with as a protagonist, but was still in possession of several humanizing faults.

I can’t say I am all that fond of Ren’s best friend, Pey. (I don’t dislike her, I just don’t like her. Make sense?) I thought she was a bit…how should I say it? Too eager to get Ren hooked up with somebody. Then again, I seem to think that about most best friend figures in contemporary settings so maybe it has something to do with me being as old-fashioned as a gramophone.

I loved Ren’s big brother to bits! A former Navy SEAL, he withdrew from the military to raise Ren when their parents were murdered. I thought his protective and anti-boy mentality was absolutely adorable and he reminded me of my brothers, whom I also love to bits.

Now shall we talk about Axel? Our leather-clad love interest? He carries around a lot of baggage from seeing his mother killed in front of him as a child and has a near-obsession with slaying Telalians (think the demons) and Goarders (the demons’ soulless servants) and is very good at it. Then he meets Ren and finds himself caring about something more than his job. I thought he was very sweet, loyal, and definitely came off as a piece of eye candy. My favorite thing about him is that he doesn’t just jump in bed with Ren, even though he clearly wants to. He’s a gentleman and I just think that’s hot as heck (am I weird or what?). Oh, and he speaks Latin. *swoon*

We also have some nifty bad guys–a demon slut, a demon sadist, and another baddie who is a bit of a mystery at this point as is his apparently heartless father. They were all menacing and scary in their own ways and definitely kept a feeling of danger going through the story.

All in all, this was an enjoyable book. I look forward to the sequel and hope that you fans of PNR and urban fantasy will look into it. It has it’s flaws, yet I think that most of the things I took issue with shouldn’t impede anyone from snatching it up.

Add Dracian Legacy on Goodreads

Find Dracian Legacy on Amazon

Find Dracian Legacy on BN.com

 

About Priya Kanaparti

_MG_3750-1

Indie YA/NA Author. DRACIAN LEGACY, a YA Paranormal Romance releases in 2013. I strongly believe that true love conquers all and that’s what I write about

I live in beautiful city of Boise, ID. I’m a full time working mom and part time YA Novel Author.

I love to connect with people and would love to hear from you!

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Check out the stops on the blog tour for yesterday and tomorrow!

Yesterday:       

Words Escape Me – Rotten Eggs – Excerpt

Belle of the Literati – Book Review

Tomorrow:            

A Life Among the Pages  – Action – Excerpt

Lucky Books – Teaser, Promo Post, and Maybe fan art

