Forged by Greed (Forged, #1)

Young Adult paranormal romance/urban fantasy novel.

Two Seattle 16-year-olds, Jatred and Jasmira, are not your typical star-crossed lovers. They are not even your typical Shape Shifters. Sure, they try to live an ordinary life. At least, as ordinary as the Prince and the Princess of the rivaling ancient Races–the Winter wolves and the Summer leopards–can live. But eventually they learn that not much about their existence can be normal. Especially when the Races’ two commanding Goddesses are involved.

One of the Goddesses is on a quest to tilt the scale of power to her side. The other will never let it happen, even if it means kicking Jatred and Jasmira’s love to the curb. Nothing is off limits, including removing Jatred’s memories of Jasmira.

To complicate things even more, there are the Universe’s powers to consider. They are trapped in an ancient Amulet in order to protect the stability of the world. But the Universe has a mind of its own, and when the powers are unleashed, the forces of nature are disturbed; earthquakes, tsunamis, and volcanic eruptions shake the Earth. All Shifters of both Races are summoned by their respective Goddesses to fight in the name of, or against, the normalcy of the world.

The forces of nature are disrupted. Earthquakes, tsunamis, and volcanic eruptions rake the world. The Goddesses go to war and summon all their Shifters to join in the conflict. Jatred and Jasmira must fight not only for their love but to protect the future of both Races and humankind.

Blurb and cover from Goodreads

5 out of 5 stars

So I picked this up as part of a Black Friday bargain because I really liked the sound of it and I just couldn’t resist. I caved and did not regret it! This is an interesting twist on shifters, involving long-forgotten deities, ancient pacts, magic (YES!), and romance. I did a great deal of worrying about the characters and how things would turn out and I will certainly be keeping an eye out for the next book, Forged by Synergy. One thing that did bug me was the omniscient perspective. You could be reading from the POV of Jatred one moment, and his uncle’s in the next paragraph. It did get a little bothersome, but as you can see, I still gave 5 stars!

The plot:

The plot was fascinating. I had a hard time figuring out whether the Goddess of the Summer race or the Winter race was the one who was evil and came to the conclusion that I hate them both. There was plenty of suspense and it was a rather clean story, particularly for being a romance. Jatred and Jasmira aren’t acting out on their hormones and that’s something I liked, but their relationship is still very intimate and sweet.

The characters:

I could get frustrated with both Jasmira and Jatred. If you check my Goodreads updates, you’ll see that I was getting very passionate in my protests against some of their actions. Nonetheless, it was a good kind of frustrated—the kind that comes from caring about the characters, not hating their guts. I thought they were both very interesting and well-developed, not cardboard at all.

There is a sort-of love triangle between Jatred and a human girl named Savannah who knows about the shifters. Oh, Savannah… On one hand I hated her because she was (inadvertently) getting in between Jatred and Jasmira. But at the same time, I loved her because…because she’s just so freaking lovable! I empathized with her completely when we heard about her and her ex being forced to break up by his family who didn’t approve of him being with a human. (He still has feelings for her, by the way.) She essentially raises her alcoholic mother and works very hard. I really hope to see her again in the next book because I really hope her life gets better and I sort of feel bad for thinking all those nasty thoughts about her.

Here is where it is customary for me to divulge my opinions on the villain. The problem is, I can’t divulge my opinion without divulging spoilers. I will only say that I was kept guessing and that the villain is done very well.

Overall, a neat YA urban fantasy romance that has a healthy dose of suspense and more than enough sweet “aww” moments. I certainly recommend!

Add Forged by Greed on Goodreads

Download Forged by Greed at Amazon

Buy Forged by Greed on BN.com

